Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Tuesday--December 10, 2013

Mike Wegzyn
Matty V. says Mike Wegzyn and Derek Beck will transfer out. Walk on QB Matt Quinn will graduate instead of taking a fifth year with the team.

This will leave UMass very thin in both positions. Rob Blanchflower and Ricardo Miller have finished their eligibility. Freshman Sharif Custis 6-3 215 will be the only TE on the roster.

RS Freshman Todd Stafford will be the only other recruited QB available for Spring ball. 2014 recruit Randall West suffered a knee injury this fall. It's unknown if he will be available by August.

Walk-on Mark Johnson will be the only other QB on the roster. Johnson's Be Recruited page. MaxPreps has Johnson's 2013 stats.

It's been my feeling UMass badly needs a fifth year transfer QB or JUCO in order for the program to get its footing.

The Doyle/Wegzyn combination was last in the MAC, going a combined 237-444 2240 yards 19 INT 9 TD's 53.4 % 93.9 EFF. That's the fewest number of yards, the most INT's (by a lot) and the fewest number of TD's (again, by a lot) and the lowest efficiency.

Dan Malone has more.


UMass Senior safety Devin Brown has received the Nil V. "Swede" Nelson Award from the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston for academics, athletics, sportsmanship and citizenship.


The UMass team had its annual season banquet Sunday. Honored were:

All Mid-American Conference Awards - Anthony Dima
Vern Smith Leadership Award - Rob Blanchflower
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year - Todd Stafford
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year - Jesse Monteiro
James Ihedigbo Walk-On of the Year - Shadrach Abrokwah
Bob Foote Offensive Lineman of the Year - David Osei
Vic Fusia Academic Achievement Award - Devin Brown
Coaches Award - Kevin Byrne
Marcel Shipp Iron Man Award - Brandon Potvin
Special Teams Most Valuable Player - Khary Bailey-Smith
Offensive Most Valuable Player - Tajae Sharpe
Defensive Most Valuable Player - Galen Clemons
Presentation of Game Balls - Dan Markowski, Khary Bailey-SmithRob Blanchflower


Bowling Green's Dave Clawson has been hired by Wake Forest.


NIU's Jordan Lynch is a Heisman finalist.



Anonymous said...

Ricardo Miller is going to petition the NCAA for a 6th year of eligibility so we may have him another year...also Stacey Bedell has elected to transfer too.

Anonymous said...

Congratulations to all the awards recipients. What is the coaches award? The others seem self explanatory.